The title track from "The Mountain" Steve Earle and the Del McCrory band.
Raising Sand/Robert Plant & Alison Krauss
Before they became a pop band they were a raw rock band. Even Hynde herself admits they are a pale reflection of what they once were. Half the band were dead by 1982. Jimmy Honeyman-scott could easily have been in anybody's top ten guitarists if he lived.
Pretenders - Tattooed Love Boys - YouTube
A pretty terrible video....but I like Dusty's version too..
Can ye all have a look at this and tell me if ye think it is in anyway a good match to the actual song?
Bob Dylan: Duquesne Whistle - video exclusive | Music | guardian.co.uk
Overplayed, overblown...but still worth its place in any collection...
Mike Oldfield - Tubular Bells
![]()
Two things:
Dylan's voice is shot to hell and he should kick in the oul' singin'. A cover version of this, perhaps a female singer--playing against type--like the video you posted of the cover version of Tupelo Honey--could work wonders.
About the video: There is an interesting disconnect between the old man's voice and the young man's naive romanticism in the video. The activity the young man is engaged in---chasing a young woman, offering her a rose, etc--was considered in the past to be the stuff of romantic ballads, love songs and sentimental films.
Now this activity is called STALKING for some reason. Could the film be alluding to this? Probably not, but I can't help reading it that way. When my own sons get dumped by a girl I tell them "Call her, send a gift. Your father kept phoning me no matter how often I said no. Eventually I said yes" They say "Oh, Mom, that's totally weird. That's STALKING"
So I read the video that way.
I also think the video is playing with the idea of The Double--a favourite theme of Dylan's, himself born with the sun in Gemini, the twins.
"I fought with my twin, the enemy within" "I and I" and many more references in his work to this idea...
It does not match the song, but that's ok.