Irish Flag Protocol
http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/p...tions/1104.pdf
Irish Flag Protocol
http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/p...tions/1104.pdf
Ditto my grandad and grand uncle.The granda had no problem with the Proclamation - he was in the IRA later.Can't speak for the grand uncle;he died out in Ypres.It certainly represents me and mine.Pity it was completely ignored,I can remember seeing it every day in our schoolroom as we were slapped from pillar to post by the brothers.I suppose the French and Americans are not much better - trick is to go on about the 'founding fathers' in hushed and reverential tones and then just get on with filling your pockets.People will soon cop on that its all just empty ritual,but they'll never call you on it.So yes,all in all a good ploy for a government in the last stages of putrefaction.But if it fails to impress there's always Family Values.
Redmond's different route? You mean the one where he advocated that 250,000 men crawl around in muck with guns killing and being killed by people who had never done anything to them. You mean that 'peaceful' route?
Redmondism in Ireland has always led to the deaths of Irish in huge numbers. Our current generation think that is all history now, just as all previous generations did. The current Redmondism of Bertie Ahern and the Irish Times will have tens of thousands of Irish in the british and european armies, all in the name of peace, just as it always did before. Articles on the derring-do of irishmen in afghanistan, a country and a people who have never done anything to Ireland, has already been peddled by the everlastingly scumbag irish middle classes in the irish times. As usual, in the name of peace, in the name of helping the stricken people of that region. British warships now visit our shores in open recruitment campaigns.
Really, neo-Redmondism will do in this age and for our generation and the generation to come what it has always done - it will lead to the deaths on a large scale of many many irishmen. This much is inevitable.
Different route my arse.
I've always found it funny how people who consider themselves supremely nationalistic and very serious about things like flags have no idea about little details like flag protocol or state institutions.
Got tricolour boxer shorts? Ever written a footballers name on one? Ever left one out overnight let any part of it touch the ground? You may as well spit on Padraig Pearse because you are a wally...for two different reasons.
![]()
"POLITICS, n. A strife of interests masquerading as a contest of principles. The conduct of public affairs for private advantage."-Ambrose Bierce
Keep Politics out of schools.
Keep flags and anthems out of Schools and if you can keep religion out of schools.
We only have one national Flag in the Republic
We should have one in every classroom with a copy of our Framed Constitution
Why?
I'd rather children learned their own history out of natural interest instead of having state run nonsence shoved down their throat.
Politics and religion should stay out of schools.
Look what happens when you let the state teach history, all the daft Paddies died because they ran out of spuds.
Do you really want to degrade history and the Tri-Colour by attatching it to regurgitated state run nonsence the state feeds children?
Theres no tri colours flying from schools in the north, no constitution on show and no anthems being played, yet northern Nationalists have more respect for their identity and history than people in the south - and I would suspect that the absence of this from schools actually encorages children to learn about it themselves.
If kids played X-box in school all day they wouldnt want to look at it when they left.
I would have no problem with the flag, but leave 1916 to the history Class, where context can be applied. As white horse said it does not represent all the people of this country. People seem to think that those who would have chosen a different road to 1916 are somehow wishing to be part of the UK, that is not the case. (their may be some, but i don't know any).
Those who claim that you can not have pride in the republic without supporting only one perspective of history are divisive and have no authority behind their judgements.
I am not deriding those that took part in those events, but our country is made up of more hues and history's, schools are places of learning not propaganda.
Cira/rira Not in my name.
The Proclamation is the blueprint for the creation of the Irish nation and the most important document in Irelands history. The Irish Proclamation does represent all the people of this country. Catholic, Protestant, dissenter, everyone. It doesn't discriminate or promote any one person of ethnic, religous or other background above another. If modern day leaders stuck to its ideals I guarantee Ireland would be a far better place.
“As well might you leave the fairies to plough your land or the idle winds to sow it, as sit down and wait for freedom.” - Thomas Davis