Page 55 of 92 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765 ... LastLast
Like Tree42Likes

Thread: Archaic phrases

Quote Originally Posted by Roy Feen View Post
    I wonder can you still get superman gum that came with transfer tattoos you stuck to your arm with spit.
    Or Bazooka Joe bubblegum. I think Topps in Cork used to make those
    "It is important therefore that I clarify to the House that in the first instance there are significant monies within Anglo-Irish to take the strain of loan losses arising over the next three or four years, before State support is engaged." Brian Lenihan 15/01/09

Politics.ie Regular b.a. baracus's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by The Field Marshal View Post
    "Latchicoat" is defined as a "great idiot" in the reference below.
    Regional sayings | Showbiz Boards | Mail Online

"Latchicove" though I agree is close to what you say.
    A ducker and a diver.
    I always knew it as Latchico. No "oat" or "ove" at the end. Definitely meant a chancer.

Never heard it said mind you - read it somewhere though - possibly Behan.

Another Behan saying - "He'd say Mass if he knew the Latin". Otherwise a spoofer.
    I ain't gettin' on no plane

Quote Originally Posted by b.a. baracus View Post
    I always knew it as Latchico. No "oat" or "ove" at the end. Definitely meant a chancer.

Another Behan saying - "He'd say Mass if he knew the Latin". Otherwise a spoofer.
    Must be Lenny so

Quote Originally Posted by Norman Bates View Post

gollier a big thick spit
    mitch especially from school, to take the time off without permission
    scut a lift, to run after a vehicle, usually a slow moving horse and cart, but also for lorries, buses (when they had conductor's/no door), and get a lift for free at the back
    scutcher's talk bad language [named after flax workers]
    gee slang for a vagina, a gee-bag girl of easy virtue
    flix cinema, pictures
    grush a mad rush, especially at weddings when money was thrown at the local kids, getting into the children's cinema, to grush, or a grush, when the doors were open suddenly [a large surge]
    bunk or sometimes pronounced bonk to bunk your bus fare, to bunk into the pictures, to avoid paying for something
    to have a slash to have a pee
    a taner a sixpenny bit, other coins had nicknames too
    to play with your marbles esp boys, to have a good genital scratch
    to hock to pawn

You brought me right back there, thanks.

We used to hear the older lads saying they were "going on gur" when they were mitching. I think that's where the "gur cake" came from, aswell as the term "gurriers".

My mother used to call eejits or people she thought were thick "Flutherballs", and my grandmother used it aswell.

Quote Originally Posted by b.a. baracus View Post

Have heard that first one used on a regular basis to this day although i always thought it was more latchigo than latchico!
    He'd say mass if he knew the latin!! Now that is good!

"Tidal wave" became "tsunami" around 2005.

Quote Originally Posted by PaddyJoe McGillycuddy View Post
    Another Cavan one;
    'clatty' = dirty
    'he's a fierce clatty bastard'
    could be either he's full of dirty jokes or he has a personal hygiene problem..
    A "clot" is an untidy person in Offaly and a dirty place would be "clotty" .

Politics.ie Regular The Field Marshal's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by asset test View Post
    You brought me right back there, thanks.

We used to hear the older lads saying they were "going on gur" when they were mitching. I think that's where the "gur cake" came from, aswell as the term "gurriers".

My mother used to call eejits or people she thought were thick "Flutherballs", and my grandmother used it aswell.
    "on the hop" was the old Dublin term for mitching from school.

Ie Jimmy,s on the hop too or Are ye on the hop?

A truly magnificent phrase.

"Half shot" & "Half cut" meaning slightly inebriated. .

Johnny was half shot down in Lanigans bar last night.

What the yanks make of all this one can only wonder and sympathise.

--
    Last edited by The Field Marshal; 1st April 2011 at 05:31 PM.

Responsibility for my/our/their/your actions.
    Honesty and integrity.
    Sense of duty.
    Pride in country.
    Spine/backbone.
    Sutiability for job based on merit.
    Stanards of behavior.

Politics.ie Regular The Field Marshal's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by SeanMac View Post
    Responsibility for my/our/their/your actions.
    Honesty and integrity.
    Sense of duty.
    Pride in country.
    Spine/backbone.
    Sutiability for job based on merit.
    Stanards of behavior.
    Sean this thread is for archaic expressions that have fallen into disuse.
    I dont think now that many of those you posted above quite fit that category.
    Many of those phrases continue to be used ,albeit less frequently than before, so do not qualify as archaic.

Page 55 of 92 FirstFirst ... 545535455565765 ... LastLast