Skinny malink melodeon legs, big banana feet

Skipping or hopscotch rhyme, I think.
    Or
    Skinny malink malogeon legs, umburella feet,
    Went to the pictures and couldn't find a seat
    When the picture started skinny malink she farted,
    Skinny malink melodeon legs, umburella feet

Yours seems expurgated.

I therefore claim precedence for my version (edit: I should credit the intermittently brilliant Hotpress messageboard, which is where I relearnt it a couple of years ago).
    Last edited by Toland; 5th March 2010 at 10:37 AM.

Politics.ie Regular The Field Marshal's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Sam Lord View Post
    I always liked Childrens Allowance being referred to as the "mickey money".

Always hated every damm thing being referred to as a "yoke".

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sad ting is that the mickey owners wife was the only one entitled to the mickey money .

I thought every damm thing was simply referred to as a "dat ting" or "dis ting" maybe even "dem tings".

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Last edited by The Field Marshal; 5th March 2010 at 12:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by aggressivesecularist View Post
    Or
    Skinny malink malogeon legs, umburella feet,
    Went to the pictures and couldn't find a seat
    When the picture started skinny malink she farted,
    Skinny malink melodeon legs, umburella feet

Yours seems expurgated.

I therefore claim precedence for my version (edit: I should credit the intermittently brilliant Hotpress messageboard, which is where I relearnt it a couple of years ago).
    Well, mine is the version my great-aunt used to say to me*, and she was a very polite lady.

*[SIZE="1"]although I couldn't remember it all myself, and had to look up the right words for the last two lines[/SIZE]
    Never let the best be the enemy of the good.

Ex-Member

Quote Originally Posted by The Field Marshal View Post
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The sad ting is that the mickey owners wife was the only one entitled to the mickey money .

I thought every damm thing was simply referred to as a "dat ting" or "dis ting" maybe even "dem tings".

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    No lads, how it goes is:

"The whatchamaycallit is upstairs in the thingamigjig where the yoke used to be before I moved it because I bought the whatsit, ya know, that trouser press ting that himself never uses, useless hape of junk."

Ex-Member

Skipping song: "last night, and the night before, 2 tom cats came knocking on the door. I woke to let one in the other danced the highland fling."

Bouncing ball chant: Little Nellie in her tent, she can't afford to pay the rent. The rent man cam and put her out, listen to poor Nellie shout.
    Put her out, put her out, put her out. its not because she's dirty, its not because she's clean, its because she has the whooping cough the measles in between. My Mammy said if I ever let her in she'll give me 1, 2, 3 O'Reilly, 4,5,6 O'Reilly, 7,8,9 O'Reilly, 10 O'Reilly catch the ball.

Ah, the energy of youth

We used to say: 'Where's yon chat gone?' 'Jaysus, I cant find that chat for the television'. 'Whatda you call that chat you lost last week?"

Did ya get that!?

Page 33 of 92 FirstFirst ... 2331323334354383 ... LastLast