Page 13 of 92 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast
Like Tree41Likes

Thread: Archaic phrases

Quote Originally Posted by cry freedom View Post
    How about a "small player" meaning 10 cigarettes
    Or a "baby power"......Power whiskey.
    Having a "pump".....urinating.
    "You could hoosh a goose up it" A very derogitary description of a young lady who was something less than a virgin
    "Clatty" round here was "clotty"
    "Usefull" ......."She was fairly usefull in her day".
    Ah, how well I remember the "small player" for 10 Players cigs. Old men would stop me when I was a kid, on my way to the shops, give me money to get them "a small Player". I was an imaginative child, but too timid and shy to ask what it was. I imagined a little dwarf with a drum or tambourine!

I remember men at the bar asking for "a half one" (whiskey)
    "A small stout" (glass of Guinness)

DOES ANYONE REMEMBER "HE'S A VERY FRESH MAN" ? ! What in God's name did it mean? A man in the prime of life, a healthy looking man, perhaps. A "fresh Man"---better than a frozen one, I suppose.

Quote Originally Posted by gatsbygirl20 View Post
    DOES ANYONE REMEMBER "HE'S A VERY FRESH MAN" ? ! What in God's name did it mean? A man in the prime of life, a healthy looking man, perhaps. A "fresh Man"---better than a frozen one, I suppose.
    A fresh man or woman would have been (and still is for some) someone who looks younger than their years. "God she's a very fresh 73. I wouldn't have put her a day over 60."

Tom Riordan used to say: "That's a grand cake Nora"
    And: "You can't beat your own eggs and butter"
    Remember ? Do you remember?

Quote Originally Posted by cry freedom View Post
    Tom Riordan used to say: "That's a grand cake Nora"
    And: "You can't beat your own eggs and butter"
    Remember ? Do you remember?
    "You can't beat your own milk and eggs." And he wasn't officially Tom Riordan when he said it because it was an ad for Gateaux cakes. (If it was the Riordans he'd have complimented Mary.)

My mother used to shout : "Be quiet, you can be heard in Elphin"
    Why Elphin I don't know. We lived about forty miles from the place.

Quote Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
    "You can't beat your own milk and eggs." And he wasn't officially Tom Riordan when he said it because it was an ad for Gateaux cakes. (If it was the Riordans he'd have complimented Mary.)
    How very schoolmasterish of you. You supercilious prat.

Round here "Fierce" was used very much out of context.
    "A Fierce nice fellow" or a "Fierce warm day"

[No doubt Biffo will find something to correct in this too !]

Head due East from Labrador, stop when you see cliffs.

Quote Originally Posted by The Field Marshal View Post
    I wonder if posters would be interested in posting words and expressions that were once common but have fallen into disuse

[SIZE="5"][COLOR="Red"]eg :The Fuzz.[/COLOR][/SIZE]

Old dublin word for the cops.
    Eg.I got grabbed by the fuzz.

It also meant pubic hair so many double entendres occurred
    Beg to differ 'The Fuzz' is merely a corruption phonetically of 'The Force' ie the Police Force... Being grabbed by the pubic hair is usually 'being grabbed by the short and curlies...'
    'THEY WENT BECAUSE THEIR OPEN EYES COULD SEE NO OTHER WAY' Cecil Day-Lewis' epitaph to the British & Irish men and women of the International Brigades, Spanish Civil War.

Quote Originally Posted by Baron von Biffo View Post
    A fresh man or woman would have been (and still is for some) someone who looks younger than their years. "God she's a very fresh 73. I wouldn't have put her a day over 60."
    Baron, when I was a kid, people used to refer to 'a fresh complexion' so it looks as if this came from fresh as in milk, cream, fish, etc. ie fresh... not worn out, not aged, not gone bad.
    'THEY WENT BECAUSE THEIR OPEN EYES COULD SEE NO OTHER WAY' Cecil Day-Lewis' epitaph to the British & Irish men and women of the International Brigades, Spanish Civil War.

Quote Originally Posted by zippo222 View Post
    I was told once that the word mott came from "maith an cailín ", and that hoor was from the old "whoreson knave".
    'HOOR' as in Cute Hoor ( a very Irish expression) is from WHORE (a prostitute). The word is pronounced differently in different parts of the world. In UK generally - HORE or EWER- in NAmerica, esp Canada - HOOR or maybe HORE (As we sailed up to LABRADOR, we took on board a floating WHORE, We f()cked her forty times or MORE; In the North Atlantic Squadron) so it can be changed to suit the rhyme... This pronunciation may be due to large Irish/Scots influence in Canadian English language. Good Post...

Page 13 of 92 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast