[QUOTE=Rebelman;1780856]To get the ball rolling, here is my report on today's AGM:
I attended today’s AGM with great hope that we will at least see signs of unity and a belief that together Cobh should be put first and petty differences should be pushed aside, I could not have been more wrong.
The election of mayor set the tone and what followed speaks for itself with no comment necessary.
There were two nominees for mayor Paddy Whitty FG (who failed to reach the quota) was proposed by John Mulvihill Jnr Lab. and seconded by Sinead Sheppard FG. Sean O’Connor Ind. (who polled 2.5 quotas) was proposed by Kieran McCarthy SF and seconded by Michael Martin FF.
The resulting vote saw Whitty elected 6:3.
For deputy mayor Paddy Histon was elected having been proposed by Paddy Whitty FG and seconded by Jim Quinlan Lab.
We now know there is a new mayorial pact agreed between FG and Labour, which is supported by “independent” Paddy Histon (who I suspect will formally join FG before taking up a term as mayor).
What emerged afterwards was how deep this pact stretched with every single position being shared between these 6 and councillors Martin, O’Connor and McCarthy completely shut out losing every vote on a 6:3 count.
Here are the full details:
Association of Munical authorities (2 nominees)
Nominee 1: John Mulvihill Jnr. Lab defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Nominee 2: Jim Quinlan lab. Defeated M. Martin FF 6:3
Irish Public Health insurance group:
Paddy Whitty FG (unopposed)
Twinning committee: (2 nominees)
Nominee 1: Finbarr O’Driscoll Lab (unopposed)
Nominee 2: Sinead Sheppard FG (unopposed)
Cobh Museum Committee:
Paddy Whitty FG (unopposed)
Cobh Tourism: (3 nominees)
Nominee 1: Sinead Sheppard FG defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Nominee 2: Jim Quinlan Lab defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Nominee 3: Paddy Histon Ind. Defeated M Martin FF 6:3
(M Martin is the only town council member who works full time in the tourism industry)
Cobh Heritage Committee:
Paddy Whitty FG defeated M Martin FF 6:3
(M Martin runs Cobh’s only heritage walking tour)
Cork County Council strategic planning committee: (2 nominees)
Nominee 1: John Mulvihill Jnr. Defeated Michael Martin FF 6:3
Nominee 2: Sinead Sheppard FG defeated Michael Martin FF 6:3
Cork VEC:
Finbarr o’driscoll lab. Defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Titanic Memorial Committee: (3 nominees)
Nominee 1: Jim Quinlan Lab defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Nominee 2 Sinead Sheppard FG defeated Michael Martin FF 6:3
Nominee 3: Paddy Histon Ind. Defeated M martin FF 6:3
(M Martin is a titanic expert and is the creator of the Titanic trail)
Carrignafoy Leisure (shareholders representative)
Paddy Histon Ind defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Directors of Carrignafoy Leisure: (3 directors but only 2 filled today)
Director 1: Finbarr O’Driscoll lab defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Director 2: Paddy Whitty FG defeated M Martin FF 6:3
Director 3: Padraig Lynch remains in place but confusion arose over this position
Boundary Extension sub-committee: (3 nominees)
Nominee 1: Finbarr O’Driscoll Lab defeated Kieran mcCarthy SF 6:3
Nominee 2: Paddy Whitty Fg defeated Kieran McCarthy SF 6:3
Nominee 3: Paddy Histon Ind. Defeated Kieran mcCarthy SF 6:3
The motion that a meeting take place to discuss allowing others onto the board of Carrignafoy Leisure got unanimous approval although it did receive some criticism from the floor.
A motion tabled by Kieran McCarthy calling for the term of office of mayor to not be fixed at 12 months was defeated by surprisingly a 6:3 vote
The meeting finished up with a discussion about Cobh moving up in the dirty town rankings, but the most sensibile contributions to this debate came from those who said we still have a long road to go in making this a clean tidy town.[/
Well Rebelman, I attended the AGM last night as I have for the last number of new councils and it is only now that I can comment on it. I have never seen the likes of it anywhere. After all of the talking on the doorsteps, and all of the promises made by candidates that they were committed to working with the entire council and putting petty political differences aside those new councillors have proven to be liars, although Quinlan showed us what to expect during the campaign on the night of the Mayors awards but he proved last night that he has no integrity as he sat there and voted down each proposal made by the "opposition".The one councillor who makes his living from tourism was spitefully excluded from a position on the tourism bodies as he was from every committee. i sat and observed the behaviour of all the councillors and spotted Mull snr.the puppet master at the rear of the chamber as his grin got bigger as the trio lost every vote.Another councillor I am extremely disappointed with is Paddy Whitty who I have defended on this site where it wasnt popular to do so, for the life of me I would never have believed that he would have involved himself in such spiteful behaviour. So now all the spoils have been divvied out and they are all going to get a chance to wear the chain which seems much more important than dealing with the numerous issues affecting the town, the opportunity to have a unified council is lost and we can expect trench warfare for the next five years, ironically the Labour hoarding at Belvelly says it all "Labour thanks the people of Cobh now ye can all F---Off and let us play silly buggers for the next 5 years".
Victor,
It's hard to disagree with what you wrote above, the way yesterday unfolded was truly a disgrace and I agree the behaviour of John Mulvihill snr. was totally inappropriate and he should have got a warning from the chair as what he was doing constantly was worse than the one small outburst fronm the editor of inside cobh who was criticised, the body language and antics of John mulvihill Jnr. was also dissapointing and I had expected more from our outgoing mayor. The other person who really let herself down during the AGM was the town manager, she should remain neutral on days such as this and her giggling and whispering was more fitting of a schoolgirl at a rock concert than a town manager at an AGM, also saying something is illegal when it clearly is not shows a serious naivety in relation to local government legislation in front of the new councillors, Cobh public and the media. I suspect herself and Martin are going to have fun as she is not used to councillors having their facts well researched and who can quote the relevant legislation, it looks like this schoolgirl will need to do some homework before the next day.
I must agree with you there Rebelman. Mull snr wont be at every meeting to play political footsie with her. It will also be interesting to see if the admiral will do his job and pull her up every time she reaches for her mobile to text, or put on her makeup in the middle of debates, as she had regularly done over the past few years.
I think the pact overstretched themselves this time and the wont be allowed forget it. And yes, Ms Ryan will be sorry she willingly and knowingly crossed the line by adding her weight to the charade by even lying about something being illegal when she knew it was not!
i have spoken with a few prominent local business people and there seems to be a serious feeling of disgust with mondays antics, their is a definite air coming from these people that they are not going to take this lying down and we could see a major backlash against the pact and the town manager.1 business owner told me that he is going to ring quinlan and voice his disgust as he voted for him and not for his party and that his behaviour the other night has shown him up to be nothing more than a puppet for the Mulls.
i think your right there Lad.
There was obviously a meeting before the meeting. The hope now for the pact i would imagine is that this anger will die down and subside as it has in the past following Seanie being shafted for the chair.
This time is different however, because people can see how blatantly Martin was excluded from the Titanic & Tourism comittee's, and these are not just people who voted for Martin but those who like him or loath him, recognises his worth as a genuine promoter of tourism in the local community. Something tells me this wont be brushed under the carpet so easily and the bitter taste it has created might still be lingering in 5 years time.
we heard all this crap before the election.
labour and fg have a majority as determined by the people and the agm went no differently than 5 years ago except that an independent councillor also voted in favour.
if you've a problem then put your names up for election in 2014.
otherwise, shut the f*** up
as always you miss the point.
osters on this forum have been telling us for months that the Labour party would take a hammering in the local elections. i continually argued that the Labour FG controlling majority would be returned.
Now that the results dont suit some people here, they just cant cope.
If Michael martin wants to be on town council committees he should have got 2 of his running mates elected with him and done a deal with seanie and sf. but he didnt.
Its called democracy. Get on with it and start looking for decent running mates in 5 years time.
I'd say I am spot on as usual Rosie.
I am not concerned with what posters on this forum have posted in the past, opinions are like arseholes, everyones got one...and those who have not got the imagination, embelish it with party spin.
What concerns me and alot (the majority of those who cast votes) of other people, is that the "results" as you call them have been twisted into obscenity, for no other reason than to "piss on" Fianna Fail, because in your opinion they would have done it to Labour. Truely inspirational.
Its not Fianna Fail who have been "pissed" on, its the people of Cobh who are feeling like they have been "pissed" on.
An opportunity has been lost to start the new council on the right foot, with the peoples choice as Mayor and the committees spread out amongst all the councillors depending on there individual abilities, for the benefit of the town and its people.
That is what was expected by the majority of Cobh people, not Labour / Fine Gael and Paddy Histon starting off on the petty political point scoring track of the previous five years.
I am sure those involved in the "Coallition of the Meek" will be hearing about it from the people of Cobh this week with emails and calls, by the majority of those who cast there votes and those who cast a vote in favour of individuals on the "Coallition of the Meek" who now feel disgusted by what has emerged.