Thread: Cork City: its heritage and history.

Politics.ie Regular former wesleyan's Avatar

Cork City: its heritage and history.

Not much to discuss really, but thought I'd put up the notice that Cork City Libraries as part of National Heritage Week are having a series of lectures. Maybe someone will learn something and post it for discussion !

Latest Library News > Cork City Libraries

Bunch of langers

Quote Originally Posted by firefly123 View Post
    Bunch of langers
    Hey! People outside Cork don't realise how insulting the term langer is. It's the exact equivalent of calling someone a pr1ck!
    "Mother came to us destitute. Brings a child into the world, takes one look at him and promptly dies without leaving so much as a forwarding name and address" Mr. Bumble

Quote Originally Posted by Mr. Bumble View Post
    Hey! People outside Cork don't realise how insulting the term langer is. It's the exact equivalent of calling someone a pr1ck!
    It can also be used as a term of endearment,if used in the correct context.

Quote Originally Posted by bob3367 View Post
    It can also be used as a term of endearment,if used in the correct context.
    Not in my day. Maybe these days - I don't use the word any more.
    "Mother came to us destitute. Brings a child into the world, takes one look at him and promptly dies without leaving so much as a forwarding name and address" Mr. Bumble

Ahhh sure I'm only messin with yis!

Lovely people, lovely place. You do love yourselves though.

Quote Originally Posted by firefly123 View Post
    Ahhh sure I'm only messin with yis!

Lovely people, lovely place. You do love yourselves though.
    Yes we do. But it's hard not to.

I rest my case

Not in my day. Maybe these days - I don't use the word any more.
    The word itself is hugenot French I believe, which means silly, silly person, an eejit.

We placed our own meanings, for example a "langerload

So, back on topic, is this not an example of just why we need a good public library system?
    Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured. - Mark Twain