Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: 70 year old concerned about ecomony withdraws life saving from bank is ROBBED

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Pat View Post
    The posters who are saying this unfortunate pensioner is an idiot clearly either

(i) do not understand the culture which hitherto was widespread in Ireland whereby people of a certain generation automatically put their trust in figures of authority in society

(ii) are callous and hardhearted

(iii) view the possession of money as a crime in itself and therefore the person in possession deserving of everything that comes his way, including being robbed

(iv) any combination in varying degrees of the above.
    Or option 5.....find it hard to believe why someone would believe a bloke in jeans and a jacket is a member of the gardai just because he says he is.

The posters who are saying this unfortunate pensioner is an idiot clearly either

(i) do not understand the culture which hitherto was widespread in Ireland whereby people of a certain generation automatically put their trust in figures of authority in society
    They could understand it perfectly, and recognise it to be an idiotic culture adhered to by idiots.
    Nothing will motivate the lazy / apathetic / Americanised / west-British types to embrace their culture and the Irish language.

Quote Originally Posted by Nano Nagle View Post
    I have called for justice to be done and the thief to be put on trial but unfortunately the victim does appear to be an idiot.
    I am sure the politicians will recompense this man as they did with the bankers and you and I will gladly pick up the bill.

OR
    What if this man has got it right? All European Banks could shut their doors if the Greeks vote against the austerity package. We would all be suckers then as we waited outside the banks to get our money out.

It could actually be safer under the mattress. For any money in the bank can get confused with the tens of billions of international derivative gambling debts, once the Greek financial bomb is ignited. You think this is far fetched --- dream on!
    "No warning can save a people determined to grow suddenly rich." - Lord Overstone.
    "hadn't met any Irish people that were afraid of anything" - Christine Lagarde. 2008.

Quote Originally Posted by Nano Nagle View Post
    Does it mention the pensioner's address? I might dress up as a priest and call round for tea and rob his TV while he's in the bathroom.
    You don't even have to bother dressing up. Just call round in a pair of jeans and pronounce yourself to be an archbishop and you need to take the telly away to be blessed, to stop sinful and blasphemous programmes from appearing on it. Apparently this guy will believe anything.

Quote Originally Posted by SideysGhost View Post
    And yer another hysterical hand-wringing something-must-be-done middle-class twat.

Some knacker calls at the door wearing jeans and a green jacket, pronounces himself to be a Garda, and automatically on faith the pensioner goes "Oh right Gard, here's 70K so"?

In the week when the Greek banking system is in meltdown?

I call shenanigans, this is a ridiculously unbelievable story.
    Ah, a right on "werkers of the werld" class view of the crime.

"It is all the fault of those nasty capitalists who have the Gardai spinning stories for the consumption of the plebs like us". Who exactly is the eejit here - the pensioner might have been gullible but don't take the rest of us for fools, like the bankers have done and expect to get away with it.

Politics.ie Regular Fr John Murphy's Avatar

Unfortunately, the man was acting out of fear, based on very real media noise around the place about the risk of bank default. And we're as bad or worse at this kind of dramatic scare-mongering on P.ie as anyone. It's a shameful incident on many levels. Giving out about the poor pensioner, who has probably worked hard his whole life for those savings and was acting out of fear, is sinking very low indeed. Usually on this site, we can "flame" each other and be obnoxious all we want in this "safe, unreal" cyber-space. But there's a 70 year old man now, without his life's savings, having been the victim of a crime, who is real. Please grow up and keep the comments away from criticising or ridiculing him.
    "That is why I despise the so called uber hypocrite and misnamed Fr.John Murphy."

Ah, a right on "werkers of the werld" class view of the crime.

"It is all the fault of those nasty capitalists who have the Gardai spinning stories for the consumption of the plebs like us". Who exactly is the eejit here - the pensioner might have been gullible but don't take the rest of us for fools, like the bankers have done and expect to get away with it.

OK old man, you just sit there shaking your cane at the moon...

I take you for a fool because you are a very foolish person. If you don't want to be taken for a fool, then don't post hysterical gullible gibberish.

Quote Originally Posted by SideysGhost View Post
    You don't even have to bother dressing up. Just call round in a pair of jeans and pronounce yourself to be an archbishop and you need to take the telly away to be blessed, to stop sinful and blasphemous programmes from appearing on it. Apparently this guy will believe anything.

Having heard some almost unbelievable stories from Gardaí I don't find it hard to believe that someone who believes his money was not safe in a bank would then be gullible, for lack of a better word, enough to let this happen to him.

We weren't there at the time but saying this is some sort of conspiracy is laughable.
    Fools and their money and all that.

But people who rob from old people should be tortured.
    TECHNOCRACY NOW! If you really don't like Murdoch's methods, keep the dish but get rid of the Sky box
    self install in 3 minutes.

Quote Originally Posted by WTTR View Post
    It could actually be safer under the mattress.
    Only if you keep it there, and don't hand it over to some guy in a pair of jeans and green jacket just because he asks for it.
    Nothing will motivate the lazy / apathetic / Americanised / west-British types to embrace their culture and the Irish language.

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast