Page 3 of 79 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast

Thread: Republican Cork stands proud

Quote Originally Posted by jacko View Post
    well done to all

place looked fab

major own goal by Jonathan O'Brien and SF
    They're entitled to have their protest and I'm glad it was a peaceful one. Noticed though they were drowned out with the Banshee like screams of school children!
    Fear God, Honour thy King.

Quote Originally Posted by Nano Nagle View Post
    The Rebel County my arse. What a bunch of langers. Cork has always been a blueshirt stronghold.
    Very true.
    SMASH THE NAMA REPUBLIC GET OUT AND PROTEST

Politics.ie Regular TommyO'Brien's Avatar

well done to all

place looked fab

Worth reposting.

I agree with everything in your post.

Quote Originally Posted by TommyO'Brien View Post
    Well done to Cork. Between 25,000 and 30,000 lined the streets according to media reports.
    I think you accidentally added an extra "0" there Tommy.

well done to all

place looked fab

Major own goal my Sinn fein in general this week. It just shows that Adams view that the visit was "premature " was out of touch with the vast majority of the people. The Queen was welcomed and rightly so. Sinn Fein just looked like an out of touch party of divison. This was confirmed with O'Snodaighs dire perfromance on Vincent Browne earlier in the week. Congrats again to the people of Cork .

Great photo from the IT website.

Shows that the young people in Cork have a genuine interest in meeting her, and respect her right to be there.

Sharp contrast with the group of Shinners, knackers and umemployable drug-addicts who wrecked parts of Dublin during the week, claiming to be the voice of the youth

Quote Originally Posted by Tiocfaidh_Armani View Post
    A shower who couldn't give a feck if six counties of your own country stay in foreign hands.....republican my behind

Free Staters - nothing more, nothing less my revisionist friend. I have nothing against Britain or its people, but their head of state will never be welcome while they hold claim on our country.
    That's a bit 1922 of you, isn't it? Free Staters?

Your problem is with the definition of the word 'Republican', and it's a problem the IRA's hangers-on have had for decades. You equate it with shooting Brits, and the more Brits you shoot then the more of a Republican you must be. It's a bastardisation of the essence of what the word actually means.

Liberty, equality and fraternity lie at the core of true Republicanism. Not one of these noble virtues were ever put into practice by the men in balaclavas. On the contrary, their own communities were held hostage and forced to provide support for activities most of them abhorred, thus denied liberty to dissent. The British Protestant people of Northern Ireland were at the receiving of the IRA's campaign of violence, so there went equality. The same applied to the murderous Loyalist gangs. Fraternity was irrelevant in the circumstances.

Now that lasting peace is within our grasp, barring a few neanderthals, Sinn Fein and its followers can put into action genuinely Republican ideals and distance itself from an inglorious past.
    Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.
    Mahatma Gandhi

Cork is nicknamed "The Rebel County", as a result of the support of the townsmen of Cork in 1491 for Perkin Warbeck, a pretender to the throne of England during the Wars of the Roses.

Quote Originally Posted by johnny365 View Post
    Major own goal my Sinn fein in general this week. It just shows that Adams view that the visit was "premature " was out of touch with the vast majority of the people. The Queen was welcomed and rightly so. Sinn Fein just looked like an out of touch party of divison. This was confirmed with O'Snodaighs dire perfromance on Vincent Browne earlier in the week. Congrats again to the people of Cork .
    Good to see Labour haven't strayed from the writings of Connolly

Quote Originally Posted by johnny365 View Post
    Johnny that's crap. sF played it just right. What did you want. Did u want Gerry to kiss her ring or maybe Martin to stick the head in her. For god sake be objective. As a SF supporter I believe they got it bang on. Now I have no issue with eamon, Joan Enda and the rest doffing the cap. That's their call but to try and beat SF up over this is silly in the extreme. Dare I say quite immature.
    It's only a bit of craic

Page 3 of 79 FirstFirst 123451353 ... LastLast