Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > Political Parties > Fine Gael

Hey there!

It looks like you're enjoying Politics.ie but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Joining Politics.ie is completely free. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

George Lee resigns from Fine Gael and as a TD

This is a discussion on George Lee resigns from Fine Gael and as a TD within the Fine Gael forums, part of the Political Parties category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by west'sawake I am not a FG member nor am I a FG enthusiast, but this whole farce ...

LinkBack (5) Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by west'sawake View Post
I am not a FG member nor am I a FG enthusiast, but this whole farce can only benefit FF, and for that I blame Lee not Kenny.

Another simple fact FG are in no way responsible for the mess, FF and the Euro are and if I have any misgivings about politcal leadership in this country it is the arena of real policy alternatives, where there are few and the consensus is too crowded. I have heard nothing from George Lee's lips this past two days to tell me he would be different, only cliches and prognostications on what is wrong. Indeed ironically the only radical idea I heard this past year was that the cost of governing this country was too high, and that came from others in FG re the Seanand and Quangoes, among them Kenny and Varadkar.

Lee showed promise as a commentator but not as a T.D. and disappointingly while he was one of the few to see where the Euro might lead us, he was by his silence another cheerleader for handing over even more economic policies to Europe. McWilliams also has been lionised, if he became a T.D should he too lead us to Nirvana, mercurial and ebullient as he is too, God give me Enda Kenny any day.

I will really respect and believe George Lee if he actually starts a new party, one that offers the radicalism he purports to have.
Well actually westawake, if McCreevy and Cowen had listened to the EU several years ago, we wouldn't be in the doodaa that we're in now. The EU time and time again warned them about their spending, about inflation, loss of competitivess etc. McCreevy and Cowen just ridiculed the EU in response - they didn't undersatnd us they claimed, they were jealous of our success, we were the envy of teh World, World all wondering how we did it, etc etc.....

Well one of those is at least true NOW, they sure are all wondering how we did it.

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by dalywise View Post
Well actually westawake, if McCreevy and Cowen had listened to the EU several years ago, we wouldn't be in the doodaa that we're in now. The EU time and time again warned them about their spending, about inflation, loss of competitivess etc. McCreevy and Cowen just ridiculed the EU in response - they didn't undersatnd us they claimed, they were jealous of our success, we were the envy of teh World, World all wondering how we did it, etc etc.....

Well one of those is at least true NOW, they sure are all wondering how we did it.
I remember all that well DW and it was akin those with petrol bombs in their hands warning us of an impending explosion, fiscal tightening while a little helpful was useless when we had interest rates, easy credit, and perfect capital mobility, courtesy of international deregulation, the eurasian savings glut, and a monetary policy suited to the needs of the then sluggish giant, Germany. Lee has admitted this in the past which was one of the reasons I admired him.

Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by gombeennation View Post
I see what you are saying alright.
It must be completely beyond belief from the fine gombeens in there.
I think thats what EK would have thought " let that upstart rot in the chair and if push comes to shove i will give him the ultimate prize - a front bench - no one can resist the power of the front bench"
EK would have thought like that because he deals with gombeens day in day out and has done for 35 YEARS!!! yes 35 YEARS.
most gombeens would sit backwards on a chair in a clown suit for 10 years if it meant getting a front bench.
GL aint a gombeen tho.
that was EKs mistake.
Ha ha! 'Gombeen' is the new argument? Repeat it time and again and it validates your point?

He couldn't hack it. Sure, maybe it's all about the system being wrong and he is too good for it and he is so noble and we are not worthy of him. But the simple fact is he put the books away and tried the practical for a while, and he failed miserably. Those who can, do. Those who can't get nice cushy jobs telling those who can how to do it better. He has proved, spectacularly, that sometimes Poindexters should stay in the library and leave politics to the big boys with a bit of backbone. He could draw one of those faces on his hand and tell himself how great he is I guess!
Old 4 Weeks Ago

What does George Lee think he's playing at? Doesn't he know that there's no point looking for an influence on policy until there's a General Election? Then the leadership will be looking for ideas that may help them win the election and they'll be open to influence. The main priority is to get rid of this incompetent, useless government first and then it's time for new ideas, which will really be necessary to get this country out of this mess.

First item on the agenda: leave the European Union.

EUROPA CONVENTUS DELENDA EST!...Whistle out the marching tune

Last edited by kerdasi amaq; 4 Weeks Ago at 05:55 PM.
Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by reknaw View Post
Believe it or not, there are some places where a parliamentarian can't flounce away and resign his/her seat just like that if s/he is not being listened to by the party leaders.

Here in Finland, for example, a parliamentarian must request the permission of the Eduskun-ta (LOL, the word is unhypenated, but the cuss editor asterisks it out for some reason I can't fathom) to resign from it. And present a reason for doing so, if one is not already evident in the form of a scandal, a criminal conviction, appointment to an international post or the European Parliament, poor health, and so on. Permission is usually granted, but has been refused on a number of occasions.

The last time that happened was a few years ago when a lady representing the Left Union (formerly communists and their socialist allies) felt she was not achieving anything and wanted to quit. There was a vote and permission was refused. In effect, she was told to grow up and knuckle down to the job that her voters had chosen her to do, so she completed her term.

It would be interesting to see the vote if Lee had to do the same in the Dáil, wouldn't it? How would Biffo have voted, or Varadkar or Bruton?

Another amazing difference between two EU countries is that the Speaker of the Eduskun-ta is currently unpopular with some parliamentarians because of his very strict line on expenses. We sure could do with someone like him in Ireland.
Does Finland use the List System, by any chance?

Once is happenstance, twice is coincidence, three times is enemy action.

There are lies, damn lies and debatable points. "I'm not shouting, I'm making an assertive point." M. Martin
Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by NewGoldDream View Post
Ha ha! 'Gombeen' is the new argument? Repeat it time and again and it validates your point?

He couldn't hack it. Sure, maybe it's all about the system being wrong and he is too good for it and he is so noble and we are not worthy of him. But the simple fact is he put the books away and tried the practical for a while, and he failed miserably. Those who can, do. Those who can't get nice cushy jobs telling those who can how to do it better. He has proved, spectacularly, that sometimes Poindexters should stay in the library and leave politics to the big boys with a bit of backbone. He could draw one of those faces on his hand and tell himself how great he is I guess!
+1 Any reasonable person having watched and listened to George Lee's media interviews yesterday would have to agree that he came across as petulant, egotistical and an overdeveloped sense of his own importance.
I thought James Reilly expressed it best, when he said on Vincent Browne, that he too entered politics with a single clear agenda, health policy, but he didn't sit back waiting for someone to realise his potential instead he took every opportunity to speak on health and eventually became FG's Health spokesperson while George wasted his time sulking waiting in vain for the mountain to come to Muhammad.

Last edited by Limerick Lad; 4 Weeks Ago at 05:47 PM. Reason: typing error
Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by west'sawake View Post
I remember all that well DW and it was akin those with petrol bombs in their hands warning us of an impending explosion, fiscal tightening while a little helpful was useless when we had interest rates, easy credit, and perfect capital mobility, courtesy of international deregulation, the eurasian savings glut, and a monetary policy suited to the needs of the then sluggish giant, Germany. Lee has admitted this in the past which was one of the reasons I admired him.
The thing that was pounded into the thick heads of McCreevy and Cowen years before the Euro started was the need for fiscal discipline. The temptations of low interest rates were always known. Tha's why the Germans would have preferred countries like Ireland, Italy, Greece etc stay out of the Euro because of their previous records of mad spending sprees.

But Ireland clambered to get in to the Club. The warnings were there from the EU but Ireland and others chose to ignore them. We failed to put the correct balancing mechanisms in place to compensate for a monetary policy that some countries, like Ireland, were just not politically mature enough to handle with care.

Fianna fail destroyed the economy too between 1977 and 1981. There was no Euro then. But they followed the same policies as in the 2000s, and got the same result.

Don't blame the Euro or the EU. Blame corrupt Fianna Fail and their lust for popularity power.
Old 4 Weeks Ago

George George
George of the jungle
Watch out for that tree…

8 months, he lasted only 8 months, what a loser,

oh well, back to his €150K job at RTE

For an honest guy, why did he not tell his constituents that he did not actually leave RTE?

Why did he not tell his constituents that he was only going to give it a try for a few months to see how he liked it?

Honest George, not enough limelight in front of the old TV cameras I guess.
Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
truth hurts!

Quote:
He couldn't hack it.
Yes , i agree he couldnt hack chairing committe meetings , being the hostess at those circuses - i am suggesting that his unwillingness to participate in this charade is a GOODTHING (tm) - your opinion may differ of course.

Quote:
Sure, maybe it's all about the system being wrong
I agree - the system IS wrong.
Dont expect to hear that from the insiders tho - they will just say GL couldnt hack it

Quote:
and he is too good for it
ehhh , EVERYONE is too good for it - thats my point , that set up was fullRetard(tm).

Quote:
and he is so noble and we are not worthy of him.
depends what you mean by "noble" - unwilling to be a mime artist in a pantomime - year sure he was too noble for that.
some people are cut out for that type of tomfoolery - I usually refer to such scum as Gombeens (tm).

Quote:
But the simple fact is he put the books away and tried the practical for a while, and he failed miserably.
He tried and realised it is impossible to break the gombeenarchy - its too heavily interwoven in the fabric of our sceptic isle
from "opposition" to the thieves - they are all in on it.

Quote:
Those who can, do.
our lot have done what exactly? minus 500 mill a week - nice work fellas.

Quote:
Those who can't get nice cushy jobs telling those who can how to do it better.
doesnt get any cushier than sitting on your thumb , or lying to your people telling them everything is going to be ok.
huge salaries , unvouched expenses - eye watering pensions.
as i have said , the gombeen thing to do would be to stay on and collect the above.
GL =/= Gombeen

Quote:
He has proved, spectacularly, that sometimes Poindexters should stay in the library and leave politics to the big boys with a bit of backbone.
even you dont believe that - big boys? what does that mean ? big as in big bellys ? stuffing their bellys from the trough - big alright , big on robbing.
is that something to be proud of?

Quote:
He could draw one of those faces on his hand and tell himself how great he is I guess!
He could alright yeah.
Either that or tell it how it is - and its like this "be a gombeen or GTFO".
How many other TD's have resigned their seat on a point of principle?
as for letting down the voters - i dont agree - they will have a by election.
they can vote for any number of gombeen drones if they want.
no shortage in this kip
Old 4 Weeks Ago

Quote:
Originally Posted by meriwether View Post
Can you please tell me what kenny should have done?

Spare athe polemics about gombeens, I'm not interested in that.
What Kenny should have done, within a month or two, is put Lee up as a public face for economic policies as part of a Fine Gael economics team. Lee has more favourable media presence than Bruton, people were used to listening to Lee o economics. From Bruton, they mostly hear attacks on Gov't policy, economic or otherwise, and that is too much 'party politics'.

Lee's speciality is economics, he should have been used in that fashion, not left in a corner. Since the by-election, Lee has been pretty invisible, and unheard of, and that wasn't a good thing for the Party's ability to use what got Lee elected, a known face in the media that people were used to listening to. That is easily lost and hard to gain/regain.

Enda failed to capitalise on that. And that adds to the idea that he wouldn't make it as Taoiseach, no willingness or sense to grab an opportunity like that.

Once is happenstance, twice is coincidence, three times is enemy action.

There are lies, damn lies and debatable points. "I'm not shouting, I'm making an assertive point." M. Martin