![]() |
|
| |||||||
|
Hey there! It looks like you're enjoying Politics.ie but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Joining Politics.ie is completely free. Register now! Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message. |
This is a discussion on Beginning of the end for the Aherns? within the Fianna Fáil forums, part of the Political Parties category on Politics.ie. I'm surprised this hasn't raised more or indeed any comment here. It was reported in the Herald during the week ...
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| |||
| I'm surprised this hasn't raised more or indeed any comment here. It was reported in the Herald during the week that the FF group on Dublin city council replaced Maurice Ahern as group leader and that Deirdre Heney stepped back from her position as whip. Julia Carmichael replaced Ahern as group leader. Not sure who the new whip is. It has been suggested the reasoning was centred around Maurice's lack of surefootedness on the issue of Freeman for the city of Bob Geldof. Of course, Deirdre is very close to the Aherns, what with being Noel's PA or something in Leinster house and a noted votegetter in the DNC area herself. Could the truth be the shuffling and scuffling for who replaces Bertie in the election after next has started in earnest? Bertie has said he will retire at 60 years of age so that could well make the 06/07 election his last. Control of the local organisation will be key as to who gets the nod to replace him after that. So, could it be that the Carmichaels are trying to sow up local control of Drumcondra in advance of Heney getting a Seanad nod from Bertie had being groomed as his real heir if Cyprian Brady did manage to hold the 2nd seat for FF in Central?
__________________ Thanks for the votes - Dan Sullivan. I'll be back and then we can all have a vote. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
| |
| |||
| This is probably a real tabloid style question but anyone know what the story is between Heney and the Taoiseach?
__________________ "Partout où la liberté règne elle est incessamment attaquée et très souvent en péril” – Jean Jacques Rousseau. |
| |||
| Quote:
As for Maurice Ahern: there's no doubt but that the Ahern name has been weakened after the cataclysm on Dublin City Council at the election. Lost 8 seats, and De Brudder himself had a close shave, just escaping the Shinners. Ahern has shafted every northside FFer at some point- just look at how Brian Lenihan, Sean Haughey and poor old Pat Carey have been treated over the years. Its possible that many people think that Ahern may lose the leadership in 2007, after defeat (or at least a disastrous result) at the general election. This move could be seen as posturing in anticipation of this |
| |||
| Or it could be that Ahern was a bad Group leader of Dublin City Council. And the FF councillors got some sense after been humiliated over the Freedom of the City fiasco and shafted him.
__________________ The word 'politics' is derived from the word 'poly', meaning 'many', and the word 'ticks', meaning 'blood sucking parasites |
| |||
| Quote:
|
| |||
| He is generally incapable and merely held that position because of his brother.... Heaney for Dublin North? its becoming very interesting there...no convention yet...Keeping trouble to the last one councillor recently observed....heres one for you Dublin North Jim Glennon Deidre Heaney Royston Brady....Anyone agree.....Also labour did ff a great favour by picking Sean Ryans brother...sure if FF did that rabitte el al would be on the wagon......anyone who thinks that 4 high profile (now shafted ) cllrs will help brendan ryan is dillusional........nepotism is alive and well in Labour! |
| |||
| Just to say "Thanks" to Maurice for his mannered and decency during his term as FF Group Leader on the Council. Most people would not realise the amount of work, with no recompense, that goes into the job of Group Leader. Deirdre Heney also did a good job - particularly on the Protocol Committee where she fought hard to protect Councillors interests when newer Councillors, completely misunderstood the implications of some of the things they were seeking. I hope she stays on that Committee - Whip or not. |
| |||
| Quote:
I've just noticed that rumours of this were published in last week's Tribune. An unnamed FF Cllr. (presumably Carmichael) said "Maurice made a total show of us. He efectiely shamed us into supporting the proposal" |
| |||
| Quote:
Cllr, you were once Labour Group Leader. Does it come with a allowance?
__________________ The word 'politics' is derived from the word 'poly', meaning 'many', and the word 'ticks', meaning 'blood sucking parasites |
| |||
| No Jim84 I was never Group Leader. I was deputy to Tommy Broughan and then became Lord Mayor - nobody took over the role during that time as Tommy centralised this work in his office. The next time a vacancy came up due to Tommys departure from the Council arising from the (welcome) dual mandate ban I was temporarily in Purgatory - as you may recall. Present Group Leader, Kevin Humphreys doing a great job and all for free. I am however happy yo continue helping him in any way I can also for free. |
![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |