Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > Topical Discussion > Economy

Hey there!

It looks like you're enjoying Politics.ie but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Joining Politics.ie is completely free. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

3.7 billion deficit in Q1 - Lenihan says economy is "weak"

This is a discussion on 3.7 billion deficit in Q1 - Lenihan says economy is "weak" within the Economy forums, part of the Topical Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by draiocht23 A house building programme And, he's not a member of FF - he's an independent. With ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by draiocht23 View Post
A house building programme And, he's not a member of FF - he's an independent.

With local leadership like this, perfectly demonstrating councillors' ability to think outside the box/house, how can we fail?
It reminds me of the speed episode on fr ted. Dougal is on the milkfloat with no breaks. Three other priests discuss what to do. Something real. Something practical...got it...cut to them saying a mass.
Borrowing to pay for House building, seems as silly as borrowing to pay social welfare and the public sector pay bill. Yet one is ridiculed, the other is accepted as gospel by our political and economic classes. Even by 2013 the best we are hoping for is to increase our national debt by 3% year on year.

Here's an economic stimulus package, make 30,000 of the worst performing or surplus public servants either retire or redundant. Borrow now when it is still cheap to pay for that. Their lump sums can act as a stimulus package.

Maybe we should not use public sector employment or welfare as instruments of our monetary policy.

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schuhart View Post
For the sake of argument, why has the housing market ground to a halt? Because the feckin eejits who built houses can't figure out that the price they want is unrealistic. Why are people shopping in the North? Because the fecking eejits who work in retail can't figure out that they need to drop prices too. Why is unemployment increasing? Because another group of fecking eejits can't figure out that their labour is worth a lot less than they thought.
You forgot about the fekcin eejits that are in the Irish owned banks that aren't putting pressure on developers who aren't even servicing their debts.
They are sitting on property instead of having a firesale so at least we can reach the bottom and move on.

You also seem to forget that some people, out of principle, would rather not have a job than less pay.
This mindset is particularly noticable in very unionised industries.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odyessus View Post
Have you seen the price of bullets lately?
Yep that's why I am makin them meself

Quote:
Originally Posted by petervalhala View Post
Do you actually have a functioning brain? Or are you just an incurable biggot?

Its getting rather tiresome, but extremely amusing, to see your never ending predictable anti FF ravings.

Do you froth at the mouth as you type? Or are you dictating to someone who is literate in order to post here?
A bit rich coming from a ff apologist who doesn't seem to notice the gaping holes in the intellectual capacities of top level ff ministers.
Lenihan, Coughlan are two that spring to mind that are completely in over their heads.
And please don't give us the sh*** about how glowing an academic career Lehinan has had. God knows what redeeming drivel can be brought out to excuse Coughlan.
Nowonder some see Clowen as an intellectual heavyweight.

Normally I wouldn't give a rat's ar** about how big a gobdaws they were, but when it has such consequences that it will mean I have to work even harder to raise and educate a family, just to probably watch them emigrate out of this banana sh**hole of a country that ff are primarily responsible for creating, it is sickening to watch their inept and often arrogant bumbling.

PS if you are one of those out canvassing in the months ahead, you better get used to meeting bigots who don't share your charitable and optimistic view of the ff party.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by handinglove View Post
Slash and burn policies will DEEPEN the recession. What do you think are the biggest costs involved in the provision of Public Services? You guessed it, Labour. What do you think is going to happen if even more people get laid off. Thats right, a further collapse in consumer spending and confidence, leading to more job losses and down the ********************ter we go. Cop on lads, the conservative recession beating handbook is discredited.

Massive Fiscal Stimulus is needed along with complete nationalisation of the banks.
The Irish economy needs to produce goods and services that can be sold internationally.
Anything else is throwing good money after bad.
It was dignified, restrained and effective.Doesn't Bertie deserve the same scorn. No shouting, no abuse, no agression just a relentless slow clap whenever he speaks in public would be enough to end that man's presidential fantasy.
If you agree copy the signature in to yours and lets get the whole country slow clapping Bertie.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpc View Post
The Irish economy needs to produce goods and services that can be sold internationally.
You could get slated for talking sense! It's better to theorise on banking issues, outside influences, how to trim 70 million off a health service instead of getting the commerce running.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
+1

The public needs to cut back massively on its purchasing on non-essential foreign goods and services. No more incentives for house building either. No 'scrappage' schemes.

If we can make more efficient use of our existing roads, we won't need to spend billions on new ones. Also, let's concentrate industry on urban areas with good services, plentiful skilled labour and pre-existing infrastructure.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmayo View Post
A bit rich coming from a ff apologist who doesn't seem to notice the gaping holes in the intellectual capacities of top level ff ministers. Lenihan, Coughlan are two that spring to mind that are completely in over their heads.
Have you actually met the people you comment about? Well I have and the only obvious intellectual hole is the one between your ears.

Quote:
Normally I wouldn't give a rat's ar** about how big a gobdaws they were, but when it has such consequences that it will mean I have to work even harder to raise and educate a family, just to probably watch them emigrate out of this banana sh**hole of a country that ff are primarily responsible for creating, it is sickening to watch their inept and often arrogant bumbling.
You seem to ignore the fact that FF lead governments stopped forced emigration, brought peace to this island and doubled the number of people at work.

People like you no doubt claim FF had nothing to do with the economic boom, therefore by the same logic they have nothing to do with the economic collapse !

The reality is that we are one of the most open economies in the world and and so benefit hugely when the world economy is performing well, but also suffer when it is in decline.

Quote:
PS if you are one of those out canvassing in the months ahead, you better get used to meeting bigots who don't share your charitable and optimistic view of the ff party.
I'll be certainly involved in the local elections and will have no problem in engaging with people.

BTW a bigot is a person who is intolerant of or takes offence to the opinions, lifestyles or identities differing from his or her own; FF respect people's views, we may disagree with some of them, but we're a democratically elected party, not a bigotted party.
Old 4th April 2009

Quote:
Your nuts, we cant your kind of thinking here! Tax increases, spending cuts, bailing out banks and house building programs is the way to go!

Under no circumstances should we try and set up new companies (Automation companies, renewable research, electric hybrid cars, national rail/road system, make people work for their dole) not in this country