Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > Issues > Economy
Politics.ie RSS (on Feedburner) Politics.ie on Facebook Politics.ie on Twitter
Forgot Password? Get Started - Join P.ie!

The Top Proposal on 'Your Country Your Call' is..

This is a discussion on The Top Proposal on 'Your Country Your Call' is.. within the Economy forums, part of the Issues category on Politics.ie. A standup comedien could gould get a lifetime of material from that website. No joke....

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 5th March 2010

A standup comedien could gould get a lifetime of material from that website. No joke.
Adbreak

These ads aren't visible if you're logged in. To get started create a free account - click here!

Old 5th March 2010

Right, I'm submitting my idea so... there isn't that much competition!
Old 5th March 2010

Send a message via Yahoo to oceanclub

Here's mine:

Your Country Your Call: View Idea

Quote:
Warfare simulation such as Paintball as quite popular. We could offer the many abandoned ghost estates which now exist as a result of the Irish property bubble mentality to urban Paintball game companies.

We could take the idea one step further; no doubt there are people with enough wealth who would pay for the privilege of destroying these estates using high-powered military weapons. I'm sure there are bored millionaires who would pay more than the value of a typical abandoned Irish rural estate house for the thrill of firing a bazooka at at it repeatedly until the house is demolished or perhaps the gas boiler is hit, sending it as a fiery rocket through the upstairs floor and roof. Or driving a tank over a bungalow.
P.
Old 5th March 2010

Lads we already had this discussion and in the most correct forum where it belongs

Best 'Your Country Your Call' suggestion to date

BTW best one I found was funding of FTB deposits by government

I believe it was entered by gentleman farmer/politican/builder from Offaly.

Speaking of building bridges, someone suggested building bridge to Wales.
If the judges are the mcaleeses then this is surely the winner.

BTW you folks know the site registrant is AIB (AIB bank centre) and the technical contact is in the UK which means I believe site is hosted in the UK.

Nice to know the people behind the site have such faith in our country they couldn't use Irish hosting.
Old 5th March 2010

It's depressing reading those proposals.
Old 5th March 2010

Send a message via Yahoo to oceanclub

Another excellent blogpost by Value Ireland; here's the killer question:

The Real Problem with Idea Generating Campaigns | ValueIreland.com

Quote:
I’ve described these elite as “incumbents” – David McWilliams would call them (himself included) “insiders”. But whatever you call them, and whomever they are, they are the people who were running this country, and running the businesses in this country, during the time that we rose spectacularly and descended even more spectacularly over the past 20 years.

Why then would these people entertain any ideas that come from the general public that would disturb the status quo that exists in Ireland?
P.
Old 5th March 2010

Become the casino hub of Europe, with people coming in to play in our casino's.

The wealth of Las Vegas and Monaco (once the poorest state in Europe) was built on Casino's.
Old 5th March 2010

Here's mine: IDEAS.ie - An irish Digital Educational Archive Scheme.. the gist being all third level thesis that meet a 2.1 standards be placed in a HEA run website/online library so anyone can see it. Not only would it be a boon to students, be they junior certs doing a project on,say, Brian Boru, but for companies involved in R&D so look at the research of out best PhD science students. Best bit? it costs virtually nothing, all it requires is each college to insist on a digital copy of the thesis and a few seconds uploading the best of them to the site.

hope a few of ye will give it a boost

Last edited by adamirer; 5th March 2010 at 12:47 PM.
Old 5th March 2010

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamirer View Post
Here's mine: IDEAS.ie - An irish Digital Educational Archive Scheme.. the gist being all third level thesis that meet a 2.1 standards be placed in a HEA run website/online library so anyone can see it. Not only would it be a boon to students, be they junior certs doing a project on,say, Brian Boru, but for companies involved in R&D so look at the research of out best PhD science students. Best bit? it costs virtually nothing, all it requires is each college to insist on a digital copy of the thesis and a few seconds uploading the best of them to the site.

Nah, we still want the Monorail.

Bangladesh (Pop. 162m)
Ethiopia (Pop. 80m)
Peru (Pop.30m)

Old 5th March 2010

So how would this get the country moving again?

Quote:
Originally Posted by adamirer View Post