![]() |
|
| |||||||
|
Hey there! It looks like you're enjoying Politics.ie but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Joining Politics.ie is completely free. Register now! Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message. |
This is a discussion on Cannabis haul! This is a Joke, Wake Up Smell the Beans within the Current Affairs forums, part of the General Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by cactusflower Wide staring-eyed conspiracy theory Is this the same George Soros you accused on the basis of ...
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| |||
| Is this the same George Soros you accused on the basis of absolutely no evidence of trafficking drugs on another thread, Cactus? The same George Soros you then stated had merely funded a thinktank proposing the repeal of prohibition, which is your mind is identical to drug-smuggling? I do believe it is.
__________________ Please sign the petition to establish a national day of celebration in honour of the vision of the United Irishmen! To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts. |
| |
| |||
| Just read the article in the Irish Times and I must say it looks like more of the same old policies of the past, which means more failure. Why doesn't anyone behind these policies understand that we need regulation and education, not prohibition! Prohibition does not deal with the problem of drugs,it just makes them illegal, thus putting the control of them into the hands of dangerous criminals. Take cannabis for example, Dr Donald Tashkin(UCLA) is the worlds leading expert in lung cancer and pulmonary disease, has completed a study on middle aged heavy cannabis smokers in L.A. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJmQ16cGBHU[/URL] . He found that smoking cannabis did not lead to lung cancer and in fact has anti-tumoral effects, he found tobacco smokers had a 21 fold increase in lung cancer risk. Now considering that a lot of the cannabis and herbal cannabis in this country is contaminated( by this I mean the criminal gangs buy in cheap hash which is off poor quality and the herbal cannabis is sprayed with contaminents such as lead, fibreglass, etc. This is done to make it weigh more, as it is sold by the weight, these gangs can almost double there money. So here is a drug policy,designed to keep the peolple of this country safe, actually putting the thousands of people's health at risk. Where is the sense in that?? We haven't reduced the number of tobacco smokers through the prohibition of cigirettes, we did it through education and regulation. We have tried prohibition with cannabis but the numbers keep rising, so it is time to cop on and reform our drug policies so that they will make a real difference! |
| |||
| Quote:
|
| |||
| Thats sad and quite disappointing. Its as if this crew are just addicted to banging of heads against walls. If it hasnt worked for the past few decades why would it work now? The Gardai are shrinking at the moment, would that suggest certain "crimes" cannot be fought with dwindling resources? Hard to believe they are also turning their backs on a bona fide revenue stream. You have to imagine that here is a degree of idealogy in this. Im not convinced that common sense is being employed here. Ive said before that we live in a country where alcohol is part of our culture. Given its potential effects, why keep the weed underground? Old men and women employing old thinking. One wonders how we ever make progress. Someone email Biffo this thread! |
| |||
| Quote:
We are hoping to have a thread on cannabis legalisation in every suitable forum on p.ie - maybe, by chance, some journalist might see it and run with the story... |
| |||
| You might as well send a letter to this fellow: Biffo would probably do himself a favour by cutting down on the pints and smoking a few joints instead. It would both reduce his sheer mass and maybe open his mind to a fresh idea or two. But it's never going to happen with that sad blob of pointless protoplasm. |
| |||
| Quote:
There is another lobby of powerful industries eg pharma, lumber, paper etc. who are both vocal and very wealthy. these lobby groups see a threat to their wealth. they'd be right. The Gardai as a force don't have the guts to tell it like it is, how many times have we seen a senior garda make claims that they have dealt a major blow to the dealers, this is a denial of the blatently obvious. As for the politicians well where to start. we are cursed with a particularly spineless breed here and the UK ain't far behind us. A previous minister (Carey) for drug strategy actually claimed that Ireland was winning the war on drugs FFS this in the same week that the DEA in the states said the war was unwinnable. go figure. the problem in this country as far as I can see is as with all other difficult issues denial and and an unwillingness to listen to the facts and make a courageous decision. I think we will be waiting a while for the right type of politician. the only real example at present is Luke Flanagan of roscommon co. council. |
| |||
| Quote:
|
| |||
| I wonder if we all got together in march 2010. Planted 100,000 marijuana seeds in random spots all over the country, could we make the place more green? ![]() At least if we ever got stuck for a decent deal, we could find one of the 'hot'spots. I suggest within forests and on top of mountains in the wilderness. Who knows the marijuana population might spread all by itself if global 'climate' change wtf happens |
![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |