![]() |
|
| |||||||
This is a discussion on Paul Williams within the Current Affairs forums, part of the General Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by superhack Really? Who? I think you're wrong. Williams is the only one I'm aware of. afail reynolds ...
![]() |
| | LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
| |
| |||
| Quote:
Williams is the only reporter to have Garda protection: Paul Reynolds definitely does not. Neither do Conor Lally, Michael O'Toole, Tom Brady, John Mooney, Jim Cusack Cormac O'Keeffe, Alan Sherry or any of them. |
| |||
| Not that it's any of your business, but my parents separated when my father died. He was well into his eighties at the time. R.I.P. That was an astute psychological perception on your part. Are these the kind of head games you like to play with your poor clients to show them what an omnipotent fellow you are? |
| |||
| Wasn't it Paul Williams who once had a bomb planted under his car - or was that some other journalist. Anyway, any crime correspondent would be foolish not to be careful about his personal safety. There are plenty to crazies in the criminal fraternity. I imagine Paul does enjoy some of the kudos and celebrity that comes with his job. Any high profile journalist I know no matter what the field enjoys being a big fish in this small town, but so what? It's hardly a character deficit to enjoy some recognition for your work.
__________________ "Gods are fragile things; they may be killed by a whiff of science or a dose of common sense." - Chapman Cohen. |
| |||
| Quote:
a professional liar , a gutter journalist in my opinion attempting to portray himself as some sort of crime expert . He is to factual journlism what i am to wedding planning |
| |||
| Quote:
your correct on that score . Williams is a mouth piece for the detective unit , not the plod on the street . Very often hes playing one crim off another and then forcing the other one to act up to boost his cred in return . Its the plod on the street which has to scrape up the mess afterwards . If he wanted to write seriously about crime and policing in ireland hed report on substandard and unsanitary community garda stations with feck all manpower unable to deal with endless burglaries on ordinary citizens and the like , much less sexy of course instead of glamourising these gangsters and the caped crusaders . Hed also tackle the issue of his detective chums protecting drug dealers and using them only as a means to secure numerous convictions against foolish young irish people they lured into their web with promises of easy money simply in order to ensure the detectives got promotions and plenty of scalps . While letting drug dealers import and sitribute massive amounts of drugs , make massive amounts of money , ruin many lives . And detectives even tipping their drug dealer aaccomplices off when law abiding members of the public were so foolish as to report the activities of drug dealers and the whereabouts of their drug stashes to gardai . Thinking the detectives were their to help the ordinary law abiding people and maybe they were anti drugs and drug dealers or something . But williams is plain and simple a liar , and a well paid one. More often than not a writer of fiction . |
| ||||
| Theres something annoying about him but I cant' pin down what it is exactly. It's not like hes committing the crimes of the people he writes about. I think its' his sensationalist style of writing which offends anyone with half a brain. |
| |||
| Phinaeus I think you get the gist that people with any wit see Paul Williams for what he is, an attention seeking whore. The one thing that sticks in my mind about Paul Williams is the headline " Died trying to save a scumbag". It was how he got his twisted logic on the front page of his dreadful newspaper. 2 men drowned in cork, one was a normal joe who died trying to save another guy who had a criminal record. And that's good journalism? Can you imagine how the parents of the 2 guys felt reading that crap? Paul Williams is a sorry excuse for a journalist, he's a sensationalist attention seeking whore. |
| |||
| Quote:
its one of the most pathetic things ive heard in my life . Its akin to claiming th RIRA or CIRA would give johnny adair a military funeral . Utter rubbish . |
![]() |
| Display Modes | |
| |