Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > General Discussion > Current Affairs

Bertie gets freebie to Italy from FAI

This is a discussion on Bertie gets freebie to Italy from FAI within the Current Affairs forums, part of the General Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by greendove Hang on a second I didn't say what I thought. I said what could be proved. ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 2nd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by greendove View Post
Hang on a second I didn't say what I thought.
I said what could be proved. YOU can't prove that there was corruption. Heck its why the tribunals were such a complete waste.
Sorry to repeat myself but it appears to be necessary. At Bailey brothers set to cash in on Metro North route I wrote

The following are extracts from the conclusions of the second interim Flood/Mahon report at http://www.planningtribunal.ie/images/Report.pdf. They represent findings by a tribunal set up by the Oireachtas based on evidence presented to it.

"PAYMENT TO MR. BURKE AT BRIARGATE, SWORDS IN THE WEEK PRIOR TO
THE 15TH JUNE 1989

16-16 The meeting at Mr. Burke’s home at Briargate, Swords, Co. Dublin, in the week prior to the
15th June 1989, was specifically arranged by Mr. Michael Bailey and Mr. Burke so as to allow for the
payment of money to be made to Mr. Burke. The meeting was not arranged in order to receive a
political donation, but was arranged for the purpose of paying Mr. Burke money to ensure his support,
and his influence over others, so as to achieve the alteration of the planning status of the Murphy
company’s North Dublin lands, described as lots 1-6 in Mr. Bailey’s letter of the 8th June 1989
addressed to Mr. Gogarty…

16-17 The parties present at the meeting were Mr. Burke, Mr. Michael Bailey, Mr. Joseph Murphy
Jnr., and Mr. James Gogarty…

16-23 Mr. Burke assured those present at the time of the payment of monies to him that he
understood that the payment was being made in connection with the proposal to alter the planning
status of the Murphy lands and further assured those present that he would honour his commitment to
do so.

16-24 The payment received by Mr. Burke amounted to a corrupt payment and all present at the
meeting were aware that it was such."

I don't mean to be dismissive but I find it scary that what came out in the tribunal isn't common knowledge among the political literate classes

That would of course be the same Mr Raphael Burke of whom Bertie Ahern said when he was forced to resign "There comes a time when even the strongest shoulder bows, when even the stoutest heart falters, when even the very best can resist no longer" . See Department of the Taoiseach*****-*****Statement on the resignation of former Minister for Foreign Affairs, Mr. Raphael Burke

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 2nd April 2009

There must have been a bag of crisps to open in Bari.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anorakphobia View Post
The FAI is run by a boring monotone numpty who got the top job despite his old man being booted out of the same job a few years earlier for dodgy financial dealings (no wonder they embrace Ahern).

Liam Mulvihill who was Director General of the GAA for 30 years until just a few months ago was an infinitely more competent, intelligent, articulate and ethical official than anything the FAI has ever dredged up.

Joe and John Delaney?
Bernard O Byrne,
Fran ********************in Rooney!!!!

As for the ban. is that the best you can do?
Of the four main Irish sports remind me which one is the only that is organised on a 26 county basis?

The GAA stayed strong in the face of outrageous odds up North.
What level of support did the brave boys of the FAI offer when Derry and Belfast Celtic before them were bullied into oblivion?

Bunch of Skobes fratrernising with the High King of Skobes, quelle surprise.
I'm going to ignore the bulk of this as its just an inane attempt at snobbery but I'll saw one thing.

Mulvihill is leaving the profitiable GAA he took over making a loss, with less players and members.

And you are seriously asking what the FAI did for Derry?
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by cctvstar View Post
fwiw - I think its the English premiership - FAI associated by default.
Does the EPL provide training facilities for Dublin's kids?

Does the EPL oversee leagues for 400,000 people?

What inspires the kids is one thing. Who organises the games, camps and leagues is another.

Football playing numbers have quadruopled in 10 years - the only field game to increase numbers in that time. The FAI should get some credit for that.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by alonso View Post
€10 plus €2.50 handling charge if you buy from the FAI. But by all accounts Bari is like Strokestown in the sun, not exactly Dublin
Cant stop laughing at this as someone from Strokestown ...................
Old 3rd April 2009

ah jaysus dinny no offence intended. It's gas, no matter what town you choose there's always someone from there readin....

I'll try a few others - Edgeworthstown, Belmullet, Salthill.... any takers?
Old 3rd April 2009

i just wish Strokestown was like Bari in the cold and wind and rain .............................
Old 3rd April 2009

Like many during the good times, the FAI got away with providing poor value to their customers for years. I've been paying €50 for the worst seats in Croker (the Davin), and now that we're getting letters from the FAI looking for us to commit to the new stadium, myself and my friends are definitely looking at it from a value for money perspective. We enjoy the craic at the games, but with pension levies and redundancy affecting us, cut backs have to be made somewhere. Hearing how our money is spent makes that decision easier.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by alonso View Post
ah jaysus dinny no offence intended. It's gas, no matter what town you choose there's always someone from there readin....

I'll try a few others - Edgeworthstown, Belmullet, Salthill.... any takers?
Comparison with Dublin ! In the Celtic Tiger years, Dublin became an hugely expensive, overcrowded, congested, pretentious dump. Speaking as an ex-Dub.
Old 3rd April 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odyessus View Post
You seem to be new around here, so let me fill you in: Any FF politician, especially Bertie, who accepts as much as a free cup of coffee or a sandwich from anyone, makes Ireland "the laughing stock of the world" and proves the depth of corruption in Ireland which has never been equalled in the history of the human race.

Such crimes can only be dealt with by a specially constituted star chamber where these lying criminals can be sentenced to burning at the stake. (After a fair trial of course.)
Bertie is merely being hoisted by his own ethical petard.
It was dignified, restrained and effective.Doesn't Bertie deserve the same scorn. No shouting, no abuse, no agression just a relentless slow clap whenever he speaks in public would be enough to end that man's presidential fantasy.
If you agree copy the signature in to yours and lets get the whole country slow clapping Bertie.