Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > General Discussion > Current Affairs

Hey there!

It looks like you're enjoying Politics.ie but haven't created an account yet. Why not take a minute to register for your own free account now? As a member you get free access to all of our forums and posts plus the ability to post your own messages, communicate directly with other members and much more. Joining Politics.ie is completely free. Register now!

Already a member? Login at the top of this page to stop seeing this message.

Get us out of this mess, please!

This is a discussion on Get us out of this mess, please! within the Current Affairs forums, part of the General Discussion category on Politics.ie. It's blatenly obvious that the current set of chancers haven' got a clue how to get Ireland out of this ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 16th November 2008

Default Get us out of this mess, please!

It's blatenly obvious that the current set of chancers haven' got a clue how to get Ireland out of this mess.
Here is a cross party government that might have a chance, plus some policy changes that need to be made.
What do you think?

Taoiseach - Gilmore
Agriculture, Fisheries and Food - Michael Ring
Communications and Energy - Coveney
Education, Children and Science - Hayes
Enterprise, Trade and Employment - Joan Burton
Environment, Heritage and Local Government - Sargent
Finance - Bruton
Foreign Affairs and Defence - D Ahern
Health - Ryan
Justice, Equality and Social Reform - B. Lenihan
Social and Family Affairs - Varadker
Transport and Marine - Broughan

We don't need a minister for Arts, Sports and Tourism or a minister for Rural and Gaelic affairs in the current economic climate.
All cabinet ministers should agree to a new pay and pension structure which is in line with other countries who have a population of less than 4 million. All quangos should be immediately scrapped and a 2 new ministeries should be set up, the first a planning application minister and secondly an anti corruption minister with a brief to reclaim all gains made by corrupt politicians and their families.

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 16th November 2008

Right that's all your credibility gone
Old 16th November 2008

Why are you still pushing this "national government" bolloxology?

The only thing the people of Ireland want from FF is for them to crawl off and die.

They have a Dail majority, are they up to the job or not?
Old 16th November 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bobo View Post

Gilmore at Taoiseach did it for me.
Old 16th November 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidewinder View Post

The only thing the people of Ireland want from FF is for them to crawl off and die.

Well said.
Old 16th November 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sidewinder View Post

You wanna give them a chance to crawl away?....your too soft on them
Old 16th November 2008

No Minister for rural affairs or tourism? So no culchies or foreignors about the place.I presume that abolishing Sports and Arts, is because in your narrow consumeristic view they are too expensive.
Old 16th November 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Question R24U View Post
.I presume that abolishing Sports and Arts, is because in your narrow consumeristic view they are too expensive.
What teams does a minister train, how many paintings does he paint - why does the govt. need to be involved in either activity. Neither are essential services and both will continue without govt. help.
Old 16th November 2008

Default nah! That list does nothing for me..

Not nearly enough women, personality politics and quite a few eejits.
Also the choice of Sargent in environment made me spit coffee all over my
screen, he's been doing naughty GM deals on pigs with the Americas.

Richard Bruton is ok. Gilmore is passable but compromising with Greens
at the expense of Labour is just plain stupid. The Greens had a chance
and have proven that their policies are only workable within a wealthy
economy and if they ignore the deep (anarchic) annoyance of the
electorate. it's FG and Labs own fault that they have not developed
an environmental section.I would put Mc Manus in Family/Social
and have Howlin at State /junior for justice and /or defence.

I do not think the Greens Policy positions have matured to an acceptable
level to give them a new crack O' whip (yet)
Old 16th November 2008

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bobo View Post

Yeah, he should takeover health and appoint Willie Walsh as head of the Hse.