Politics.ie
Advertise on Politics.ie

Go Back   Politics.ie > General Discussion > Current Affairs

Owner electrifies shopfront to deter public urinating

This is a discussion on Owner electrifies shopfront to deter public urinating within the Current Affairs forums, part of the General Discussion category on Politics.ie. Originally Posted by greengoose2 The pyss acts as a conductor between the eejits mickey and the system. No piss, no ...

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by greengoose2 View Post
The pyss acts as a conductor between the eejits mickey and the system. No piss, no shock. You should get a book on magnetism and electricity from the library. A good read for anyone fancying a slash against an electric fence!
Granted water(or in this case piss) is a better conductor than skin but whats stopping you from getting a shock accidently (i.e. while not having a piss)? I don't know how this system works so perhaps it has built in safe guards. Anybody know?

Advertise on Politics.ie

Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stendec View Post
he should but the filthy basterds on youtube an let every one see them!!!!
ACTUALLY... that's not a bad idea.
Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Caped Cod View Post
I find the level of public urination in ireland to be no worse than say France. Chewing gum and cigerett butts on the other hand are a disgrace.

About the electrified shop front though, what would happen if I were to lean against the window, or as a musician put head against the glass to have a look at the instruments inside? Would I still get a shock? If I did, I'd sue the fùcker, regardless of whether it was intended for people urinating, it'd be like saing,"sorry my dog mauled you, but I keep him for protection against criminals"
The electrification doesn't have to be much above knee height, liquids flow downward and will carry current. Leaning against the wall or glass wouldn't get you shocked. Unless you were urinating at the time.

I think the shop owner is on the right track.

Once is happenstance, twice is coincidence, three times is enemy action.

There are lies, damn lies and debatable points. "I'm not shouting, I'm making an assertive point." M. Martin
Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stendec
he should but the filthy basterds on youtube an let every one see them!!!!
I think that he has already said that he'll do this - after bill posting them.

He has the footage, he claims, so no biggie to get it onto YT.

Not hurting him in terms of publicity this either! Good luck to him.
Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Exactly, you pressume he has signs.

You can roll your eyes all you want, but if I wasn't pissing against his shop but rather looking at a potential purchase through a darkened shop window and was given an electric shock, I would sue or press charges. Imagine it was you and your little girl waing down this public street and it was a toy shop instead of a music shop and your child runs over to look in teh window at the toys and gets a shock. Would you say "serves you right love"?
Your assumptions are as narrow minded as your opinions. Try reading instead of reading into.
And what has supermacs got to do with anything?
I imagine you would also sue if same little girl, were found playing around in somebody else's urine, in the event your house or garden wall were the preferred destination for late-night drunks. How easy it is to convert the perpetrator into the victim.
Old 29th October 2009

Great idea and support it 100%.
Just wondering if the same can be applied to paint spray cans ?
Old 29th October 2009

If this very good detterent results in a reduction of anti social/criminal offences, the owner of this shop will no doubt be arrested on some trumped up charges by the gardai. Remember when Martin Ferris was arrested for vigilanty activity.
Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Granted water(or in this case piss) is a better conductor than skin but whats stopping you from getting a shock accidently (i.e. while not having a piss)? I don't know how this system works so perhaps it has built in safe guards. Anybody know?
Pure water is actually a very poor conductor - needs impurities to help it along. The system he has from what was on the news is a few wires from a power source poking out from under the door so it is reliant on someone taking a slash or sitting on the doorstep, i.e., you can't get a shock by leaning on the window.

This is definitely one for youtube, he has all the cctv stuff as well - post it under "Ennis' Shame" and he may get the Tidytowns reps to react.
Old 29th October 2009

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tommy Tayto View Post
AN UNSUSPECTING reveller literally got the shock of his life when he urinated against the window of a traditional music shop at the weekend.

He was the first victim of a controversial 'electric shock' treatment devised by the owner of Custy's near O'Connell Street in Ennis, Co Clare, for people using his shop front as a toilet.

CCTV footage showed the reveller being thrown back after he attempted to relieve himself on the shop front off the busy shopping street.

Shop's shock tactics fail to halt revellers in mid-flow - National News, Frontpage - Independent.ie

An interesting tactic here. Public urination in Ireland is a disgrace, and akin to something you would see in some third world shanty town. It really is a sickening habit, and this is exactly the way to deal with it. I applaud this man.
Can that contraption by adapted to electrocute the likes of FAS and CIE and the political parties when they p1ss on taxpayers? Could we bolt it onto the inside of the Leinster House railings?

Last edited by He3; 30th October 2009 at 12:46 PM.
Old 29th October 2009

I've heard of the Electric Picnic. Now we have the Electric Penis!